Why I don’t use a Microwave

We have bee living without a microwave for three years straight…

For the first time in my life, I have had no access to a microwave by choice. Well in the beginning when my husband and I relocated from South Africa to Jersey we were staying in staff accommodation for the first 6 months or so, so a microwave was the last thing on our minds with space limitations and all. But after with started renting we found that we were so used to not having one that we just did not bother buying one.

Don’t get me wrong, we do miss it but we definitely don’t need one… at least not yet.

Microwaves are convenient BUT Microwave food is not the best tasting, they might destroy nutrients, and they might release harmful radiation.

We have heard stories of people dying after being given microwaved blood transfusions and babies being injured by microwaved breast milk, indicating that these things should not be microwaved. We are also warned not to use plastic containing BPA so we need to stick to glass and ceramics.

Whilst scientist are still trying to figure this out, I thing I will stay microwaveless (if that’s even a word) for a little while longer.

Do you use a microwave and would you consider giving it up?

2 thoughts on “Why I don’t use a Microwave

Leave a Reply

